Animal Healings: great use of social media

I am excited to be taking a course on social media and learning more about how I can use online marketing to promote my budding small business!

As a newbie to social marketing, one of my first assignments is to find and evaluate a blog in my work area that uses social media effectively. I very quickly stumbled across Animal Healings and was impressed by the look of their website.  It has appealing graphics that load quickly, font that is easy to read, and buttons that connect you to their social media platforms.

ahlogo2013small

This small business has a web presence on Facebook, Twitter, Linked In, Pinterest, YouTube, FourSquare, Flickr, Tumbler, MySpace, Skype, and Google+, with blogs on both WordPress and Blogger. In fact, their website even features an entire page listing all the ways that you can connect with them online!

The link for their blog in the menu at the top of the website directs you to Blogger where there is an up-to-date blog with current postings. This includes testimonials from their customers, helpful tips, current news of interest to pet owners and animal lovers, as well as links back to various portions of the business website. The background theme and blog colours are well chosen and easy on the eyes.

However, if you don’t use the menu link to the blog and instead click on the WordPress icon on the website, you are taken to an older blog on WordPress that has not been updated in over a year. It appears that Animal Healings decided to switch from WordPress to Blogger towards the end of 2013, but the WordPress icon on their website has not been changed to a Blogger icon.

As a newbie to blogs, I am not sure if there is a mechanism to transfer old blog posts to a new website if you decide to switch social media platforms. Is there some way you can transfer the archives from the old blog to the new one so as not to lose any previous posts and keep the information compiled at one website? It would be a shame to lose 3 years of previous content and not be able to archive it at the new site. I will post this question on Twitter and see if someone can satisfy my curiosity.

I was really inspired by the great use of social media by Animal Healings to market their business online and I wish them great success with it! I hope someday to be able to market myself as effectively as they have!

3 thoughts on “Animal Healings: great use of social media

  1. I answered my own question when searching under Tools on WordPress. There are definitely tools available to import content, comments, and sometimes images, tags or other items from a different blogging platform.

    Like

  2. Hey Shayleah!

    I checked out the website you linked too. I think it is a great idea that they included testimonials. It really lets potential customers know that previous customers were satisfied with their services. Their website looks a little crowded to me, but I guess they wanted to squeeze everything onto one page. For your company, maybe having tabs at the top of the page to let people know of the various sections (testimonials, pet grief support, etc) would make the page a little less overwhelming. Just a thought 🙂

    Still, I think it is awesome that you found a website/blog that is directly related to your field.

    Like

Leave a Reply

